A Fitting Place to Begin

The theme of the day is “Change” and “Hope.”  Today our 44th President of the United States was inaugurated and I got to witness history in the making.  It was a terribly exciting and encouraging day.  A good day to be an American.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t such a good day to be a mommy.  Well,  I shouldn’t say that.  It WAS a good day in some ways…Let me explain.

My friend Jennifer gave me a bag of Amish Friendship Bread about…10 days ago.  So tonight was the night I was supposed to make it.   Andrew and I were filling the 4 starter bags and I was just about ready to start on the bread and it dawned on me that Brighton was being a little too aloof…too quiet…too…not around.  So I decided to check on him in his bedroom (where he was supposed to be feeding Jerry…) and when I walked in, he was sitting on the floor, all too proud of himself, flinging DIRTY rabbit litter all over his room.  Poop pellets included.  Proudly he looks up at me and says, “Mom!  Isn’t this silly?!” and flings some carefresh at me.  As I saw little bits of white spread all over his room.  On his bed, on the floor, UNDER the bed, behind the door, on his comforter, on his stuffed animals, in his hair, everywhere, I was thinking to myself what the hell posessed my little boy to do this?  So as I was vacuuming up every square inch of carpet and bed in his room, he disappears again…“Dad’s got it handled,” I thought to myself.  Again, as I’m focusing on something else, a thread of panic shoots through me and I think to myself, “too quiet…” But instead of acting on my instincts, I just keep vacuuming.

frogs and snails and puppy dog tails

Brighton: “Mom!  I pooped all by myself in the dark!” The first image in my mind is a big red glass of wine.  I call for dad to help so I can keep vacuuming and keep avoiding the possible “poo” scenarios now flooding my mind.

Dad: “Brighton!  Get back in the bathroom you have poop hanging out of your butt!  Get in there GET IN THERE!!!”

Mom: *cringe* *vacuum…*

Dad: “Oh my God it’s all over!  What did you do in here!?”

Brighton: “I did it all by myself!  In the dark!”

Dad Panicking: “I can see that…” *stomp stomp* “all over the floor, the toilet, ‘BRIGHTON GET YOUR HAND OUT OF THERE!”

Mom: *avoid* *vacuum* *giggle a little* *cringe*

So my friends, tonight is the first night that as a “new” mom, after 3 1/2 years, I realized that my son is just like every other boy.  I mean, he gets dirty, loves to play in the dirt and with diggers and dump trucks, swords, etc etc.  But for a long time we thought his gentle demeanor and laid back attitude signaled something was potentially wrong.  Shouldn’t he be doing this or doing that like the other boys do?”  Well, truth is, he is.  He’s not weird, he’s not uber sensitive, he’s not perfect.  He’s a boy.  And he’s normal.

*sigh* now off to have a glass of wine while my normal little boy dreams of frogs and snails and puppy dog tails…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by I Play Outside The Box on January 23, 2009 at 4:39 PM

    That is just too funny!!!

    Doris

    Reply

Leave a Reply

