Saturday Morning Cartoons Just Aren’t What They Used to Be

remoteblog1I remember when I was a kid, I’d be so excited to wake up, grab some cereal, and plop in front of the tele for about an hour and watch Bugs Bunny’s antics, or Wiley Coyote and the Roadrunner.  Well, times have changed and now that I’m a mom, of course I can’t find any more Bugs Bunny cartoons and forget about Wiley Coyote and his ACME tools and failed attempts to catch the ever elusive Roadrunner.

I only happen to notice this because my husband and my son left today to go to Terril Iowa (incase you don’t have a clue where Terril is, it’s near Lake Okoboji) to pick up my mother in law and to see our new niece.  I opted to stay home because it’s a short trip for a long long drive and to prepare was ridiculous, with 2 dogs, a cat, and a bunny to make plans for.  I thought I wanted a weekend to myself – you know, a vacation.  But now I’m not so sure.  Never mind that the house is a pit, there’s still 3 loads of laundry to do and one to put away, my taxes for SS which are due TODAY,  the never ending task of grocery shopping and balancing the checkbook.  It all just sounds so exhausting and mundane.

So with this list of tasks looming over me, I decide it’s more fun to turn on the tube and complain about it on my blog 🙂   I am seriously considering wearing the same clothes all weekend and never removing the carhart hat that I love so much, eating cereal for supper and leftover steak for breakfast, sleeping wherever I might fall asleep, napping at 4 PM.  Ahhh to be a bachelorette again.

Leave a Reply

