Chatterbox

I know that I have a talent for the gab, but I didn’t know that my son had inherited it.  Until tonight.  So I’ll lay out the scene for you.  I had a sort of difficult day at work – I go to pick him up, and he’s outside playing so I chat for a little while with the moms on the block (hey, a new band?)  Anyway, so he comes up to me and says:

“Mom, I want to go home.”

“Ok,” I say, and we hop into the car.

As I’m buckling him in, he says:

“I’m still thirsty, I want some nice hot chocolate.”

“Can’t we get you nice hot chocolate when we get home?”

“No, I want it from the coffee store…”

So what am I supposed to do?  I mean, I created this monster and gave him the exquisite taste that he has…

“Ok, but we’re going to Starbucks” (Because I have a coupon for a free drink and their kids’ hot chocolate – scuse me…NICE WARM chocolate – is only $1.10)

So we drive from North Liberty to the Starbucks on the strip in Coralville.  A good 15 minutes I’d say…

Not 10 minutes after he starts drinking his Starbucks “nice warm chocolate,” is he jabbering like he’s just injested 700 mg of caffeine (FYI, a 1 oz espresso shot has 75 mg and a 8 oz cup of coffee has around 100) blabbity blabbity blabbity…

“Mom, Ellie didn’t do this right.  I do the smurf kick right Ellie didn’t do the smurf kick right.  Mom, is daddy at home? Mom, we have new windows! Mom, we got to choose centers today.  I did kitchen!  Mom, I see two reds!  Just like your car!  Mom, I see three greens!  Green says go.  Red says stop.  Yellow says get ready to stop! Mom, a red car just like yours!  Two red cars!  Mom!  You’re favorite color!  Green is my favorite color.  Mom, Jerry is our BEST.  Joey is our BEST.  Feebee is our Best!  And Jerry.  And Guinness.  And Jerry is our BEST.  And he is yours and mine and ours and mine. …………………………………..”

And it didn’t end there…

All night long, I was spared the “MOM!” but Dad was tortured with “DAAAAAAAD!”  and “I’m HIDING!” (where he puts all four blankets in Andrew’s lap and dives between his legs into the blankets upside down…which is VERY annoying BTW…) “Find me!  Daaaaaad….cover me up!  Daaaaaaaad…you can’t find me!  Feeebbeeee find me!   Joey joey joey joey joey joey joey joey…Moooooom find me!!  *giggle giggle*  Ahhhh I’m stuck!! Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaad I’m stuck!!!  Daaaaaaaaaad get me out of here!! I’m stuck!!!!!!! Daaaaaaaaaaaad!!! Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad!!”  …….

Finally Andrew lost it.  “Will you just shut up already!?”

“Dad, that wasn’t nice”

“Brighton, what do you want!”

I tuned out at this point.  But about 10 minutes later, as Andrew is trying to tell me something, we hear Brighotn:  Brighton:  “Daaaaaaaaaaaaad!”

Andrew:  “Stop saying my name!”

Brighton:  “AAAAAANDREEEEEEEEW”

HAHAHA!!  What a nice way to end your day.  Laughing.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sharon on February 11, 2009 at 8:52 AM

    Oh, STOP IT, you’re scaring me! Being with a new grand baby all day, I’m starting to have 2nd thoughts!

    I have to say – it must be a HOOT to be at your house btwn 5pm & 9pm. I LOVE IT! Keep up the GREAT work, Brighton’s a treasure.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Phyllis on February 11, 2009 at 2:14 PM

    Been there, done that. I became child proof as my oldest daughter NEVER shut up. ’till this day I only hear part of what I’m suposed to be listening to.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Andrea on February 12, 2009 at 11:22 AM

    Too funny. Your kid and mine are waaay too similar. Maybe we need to get them together and give them a taste of their own medicine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

