They’re in Cahoots I Tell Ya. CAHOOTS!

Let me set a little scenario for you:

STORM:  blowing, raining, hailing, thunder, lightening, BooM, crash, etc etc.

WEATHER MAN: The storm should be hitting Mechanicsville around 9:20, Stanwood 9:25…blah blah blah.  Severe thunderstorm, tornado watch (you get the idea…basically, get the hell to the basement)

ME:  The storm is getting worse.  We should go to the basement.

ANDREW: But the weather radio said it wouldn’t be here until 9:20.

ME:  *dumbfounded* *Looks at clock on computer between blackouts – it says 9:17….* SO what, we should wait until 9:20 to go to the basement!?

ANDREW: No but the thing said 9:20!

ME:  Well, I don’t care what you do but I’m taking my kids and going to the basement.

So we all grabbed blankets and went to the basement.  I think it was 9:19.

I’m still dumbfounded.  I don’t understand why it mattered what time the weather radio said the storm would arrive when the whole freaking yard was blowing around at mach 9 outside and the lights were going off and on.   I know I am a little bit of a lunatic when it comes to severe weather, and as a mama bear, I of course go really loony when I fear my kids are in danger.  But geez.  Was I out of line?  Or is my husband’s obsession with time a little OCfrigginD?

I’m sorry I must have missed the part where the atmosphere was in cahoots with the weather man to throw me off on what time the severe thunderstorm possibly tornado should arrive.   I’ll try to stay more on top of it next time.

GAH.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Necole on April 7, 2010 at 8:30 AM

    Marcy that is hilarious. Now my husband hears the time and starts pacing by the windows or goes outside to see what is going on. Everything basically skipped over us and Jason was bummed.

    Reply

  2. LOL! Has Andrew seen the local weathermen? I’m sometimes wonder if they can even tell time, let alone give an accurate time for the storm to hit. They aren’t the sharpest tools in the shed. I would have headed to the basement too.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Marcy on April 7, 2010 at 8:31 PM

    He tried to explain to me why he was so concerned with the time but I still don’t understand. It got pretty nasty and by the time we got done arguing and went downstairs, it was pretty much done anyway. HA!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

